balsam

I returned to work today and the cafe was super-busy, just as I like it. Bookings for lunch and afternoon tea, plus the Over 50s group and Capability Scotland's Drop-In Board Games Morning. Tomorrow afternoon is the monthly tea dance which is always popular, too.

After work I had an appointment with the dentist. She is Russian and can be a little scary (she laughed out loud once when I told her I was vegan) but this time said that I was "doing a good job" with my dental healthcare so that experience was better than expected.

On my way home I saw a familiar figure at Routin Brig - D was picking up litter and killing a few stray stalks of Himalayan Balsam - here are the remains of the flowers on the road. He drove the car back home and I had a nice walk in the sunshine.

As D was cooking the tea and I was researching Himalayan Balsam for my blip, I discovered that its seeds and flowers are edible and can be used in various ways - see here if you are interested in foraging for some free food!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.