Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Iron age hill fort

This morning I ploughed through piles of paperwork and made more piles ready for the next stage of sorting out.......

This afternoon I drove to Dave's house in Bellingham. We took my car part way along the route of my walk and then continued on foot. Dave showed me a way to get around the boggy field and to have better views. The gradient of ascent is also more gradual.

The best part was when he took me to see the remains of an iron age hill fort. It is just off the footpath but not at all obvious. We followed a "road" with large stones on each side and walked up to where the buildings were. When there were no trees here, the views spectacular and gave some safety to the residents. There is quite a magical feel to the place.

I feel much happier about the walk now. Always ask a local to show you the best way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.