A day in the life

By Shelling

Goose

As usual I used the morning for playing my guitar. It has been a routine now for some weeks and is so nice to feel some of the long repressed technique is coming back a little. 

I've been worried about my guitar giving up. It started to sound like it had a cold some time ago and it has gone worse. Some notes sound muffled and even distorted. Either I have to replace it with a new one or, maybe it can be renovated somehow. I like my guitar and don't want to get rid of it but if it's giving up theres no choice. I went to try out a new guitar today that a nearby guitarist is selling but, no -that wasn't the one.

This evening was spent wisely by attending a play performed by two of my dear friends Ove, cellist and teacher, and Mia, actress and a teacher as well. Mia has written both the play and the music and they performed it together at the mission house, now a theatre in the middle of Smålands darkest woods. 

The performance was called "I wished I were a goose" and is about roots, what they can mean to different people, what can happen when you have to move away from where you were born, if you had to flee across the mediterranean or if you were just curious about what's on the other side. The performance was very moving, private, questioning and did even invite us, the audience to contribute with thoughts about our own roots and where we decided to replant ourself. Lovely and clever music nicely accompanied by cello and accordion made it a rich evening in good company with other travellers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.