Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

The latest project

As threatened a couple of days ago, the latest project has to feature on Blip - especially as it's been raining all afternoon.  We've made no progress on the new flower bed for the last 3 days - but better weather is promised for the weekend.

I spent the afternoon sewing strips of scalloped material onto the base - this is meant to be a wing.  It's obviously not finished, but I haven't anything else to blip today.

Robin has a caterpillar costume of which he is very fond, but which he is rapidly outgrowing.  I suggested a butterfly costume to "grow up" into - but when we looked to buy a ready made one, nothing was really inspiring, so I rather rashly offered to make something.  This is inspired by two different costumes found on the internet.  It is rather too feathery to be a butterfly, but R chose the feathery look, thinking that Robin will like it, and it can be more versatile.

I still have to work out how the wings will be held up on his shoulders - I'm thinking in terms of buying a cheap T shirt or creating some sort of harness to fasten them to?  And there will be a piece of dowel or similar slotted into the arm side - to extend the wings.  So there's a few more days work here.  

It's interesting how enjoyable I have found the challenges of making something without a pattern - I have always regarded myself as lacking in much inspiration, more of a technician than an artist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.