Underneath The Arches

Well almost.

Awake at 03:30 - and got up at 04:00 as I couldn’t go back to sleep. Consequently I have been tired all day - not really done very much at all.

I did manage to drag myself out for a walk and went to see this old railway viaduct between Newton Kyme and Thorp Arch. This now been put to good use as a foot/cycle path across the river Wharfe - although at present it does not officially connect to the Sustrans route to Wetherby and Harrogate. There is a muddy track at the north end which gets you into Thorp Arch where you can actually rejoin the cycle route.

To get this view I climbed the embankment at the north and looked south across the river. To my left were some huge metal strengthening ties - see extra - they are lovely and rusty!

There was quite a lot of water in the river after yesterday’s rain - see second extra, shot from the south side

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.