A "Bouquet of Bouquetins"......

.... on the edge of the ridge opposite the Col de Fenestral. We couldn't believe it, all these huge horns of a bachelor herd silhouetted against the skyline a long way off. The last time I had seen so many together was several years ago with hibou. We didn't go any further than the hut at the Col, just content to watch these magnificent animals relaxing in the sunshine and howling wind. If you look carefully at the one standing on the left he is having a pee! (Great lens). I had thought I would blip the extra of the marmot with the hulking Grand Combin in the background until we saw these. Then on the way back down we were behind this ridge and even further away, when I spotted the horns again. I chanced another few photos and on the iPad, discovered there were actually 36 huge males up there (second extra) not the 16 taken from the other side! What a great National Geographic day! Now I am somewhat tired and so "in love" with our area which just keeps on giving despite my pessimism of yesterday's blip.

Thanks so much for dropping by even if I haven't had much time or energy to respond recently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.