Capital adventures

By marchmont

Albert revealed

Early start at the Book Festival, on the Scottish Enlightenment, a subject on which I failed to complete my Honours year thesis. They still gave me the degree.

Due to bad timekeeping it slightly over ran so it was a powerwalk up to the BBC tent. Needn't have bothered, there were very few for Kirsty Wark and Jing-Jing Lee. Read my book about Malaysia after WW2 and then was in the front row for 'Talking Books', World Service TV and radio. It was hard going as they had to compete with screaming sirens and a tent theatening to launch itself into the heavens.

Home to catch up with R and do some more prep for next week and then out again. 'Red Dust Road', the story of Jacky Kay (Scottish Makar) seeking her birth family, was interesting and well acted but I'm not sure if it was excellent. And it was somehow odd having Jacky Kay herself sitting 6 seats along from me.

The town is still busy. I have much to do and deadlines loom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.