Spectator sport

Today we visited the Ness of Brodgar archaeological site and were duly directed around the dig by dint of post and string and the wonderful enthusiasm and knowledge of various guides. Dad and I were wending our way to the next point on at our usual snail's pace only to see that Poppydog was already becoming over familiar with the next official (you might only see her as a bit of a furry fuzz, I'm afraid!).

I thought I'd already 'done' the dig enough but I was wrong. More fascinating finds, new trenches, new insights into these extraordinary Neolithic builders. Even I can appreciate their skills; just look at the quality of this ancient wall, at least 5,000 yrs old and as good as, if not better than, anything you'll see today (extra). Now they've got down through the many layers the structures make more sense to me; they were always a bit confusing previously with various 'newer' additions and modifications muddying the waters.

We took Dad for an early birthday lunch so that he could celebrate it with L too. I hope he enjoyed it; he ate everything despite believing he wouldn't manage!

L and I thoroughly enjoyed a girls' night in watching Bridget Jones' Baby ... what a treat it is to have her here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.