The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

The Old Forge (Monday 19th August 2019)

Mindful that it is World Photography Day I had it in mind to take a trip to the Avebury stone circle complex today, but it poured with rain all morning, and by the time it had stopped I had forgotten about my plans and was busy in my study.
Instead I merely went outside and got some acceptable shots of Smokey but was rather taken by the shadows of the herb Robert on the front yard gate, and as I had blipped Smokey in the same spot a couple of days ago I have instead chosen this, which I can also submit as a Wild Flower Week entry to Miranda1008, with many thanks to her for hosting.

L.
19.8.2019 (1936 hr)

Blip #3015 (#2765 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #007
Blips/Extras In 2019 #192/265 + #072/100 Extras
Day #3433 (766 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2159 (#2000 + 159 in archived blips)

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Red) and Pentax HD P-DA 55-300 mm F4-5.8 ED WR lens

Old Forge series
Front Yard series
Flora series
Wildflowers series

Woodland Garden (August 2019) (Flickr album)(Work in progress)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Memphis Minnie and Little Walter - Me And My Chauffeur (recorded 11 July 1952, Chess Studios, Chicago IL)
Memphis Minnie (vocal), with Little Joe and his Band: Little Son Joe [Ernest Lawlars] (guitar), Little Walter (harmonica) and [possibly] Elga Edmonds (drums)
The Memphis Minnie records that I am familiar with were all recorded in the thirties and forties, including Me And My Chauffeur, one of her most influential songs that she wrote and performed in the thirties but didn't record until 1941. The tune was re-used in Sonny Boy Williamson I's song Good Morning Little Schoolgirl  that in turn inspired Don and Bob's song of the same title, a recent LOTD.
It also inspired Chuck Berry's You Can't Catch Me, which in turn inspired The Beatles' Come Together. I had no idea she recorded for Chess in the 1950's and loved this version with Little Walter's harmonica when I heard it for the first time this weekend. I will have to dig out some more.
It seems that Minnie had extra-curricular activities in mind for her chauffeur as she sings "Because he drives so easy, I can't turn him down". The single was released as Checker 771 in April 1953, and became known from a version by the Jefferson Airplane in 1966.
When introducting this song on one of his Theme Time programmes Bob Dylan called this “One of the great blues songs of all time, one of the great car songs of all time, one of the great chauffer songs of all time! Sung by one of the great old ladies of all time.”
He referenced the lyric in an early version of Leopard Skin Pillbox Hat, and used the melody and chords in his song Obviously Five Believers. While Dylan was obviuosly aware of Memphis Minnie’s version, his actual recording is based on Chuck Berry’s later I Want To Be Your Driver (released May 1965) and Little Walter’s Up The Line (1963) - both based also on the Memphis Minnie song. The main structure of Obviously Five Believers  comes from the Chuck Berry song, while the distinctive riff was taken from the Little Walter tune.

One year ago:
Calne

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.