Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Discharged

Wow. I was so unsure how things would go today. Up early and ready with all my stuff to make my getaway... The nurse assigned to look after me for the day introduced herself (Rachel). I explained to her I really needed to be discharged today as I had to make a trip to Heathrow to sort out the hire car.

She must have really empathised as from there, things began to move very fast. The doctor in charge of the ward came to see me. Shortly after that, someone came to take a blood sample. All my paperwork was prepared and by 10:30, I could have left except I had to organise my ride and I hadn't been given a time.

A lady from the international services team came to chat with me about the bill. We had a good chat, and then just as she left, friend Chris said he was close. Just as I was walking out, my doctor walked in. He had no idea I'd been discharged and a bit of a confrontation ensued between him and the doctor who signed me off.

Chris brought me back the scenic route and didn't stay for a cup of tea. I am absolutely thrilled to be out of hospital, but can see it's going to be a few days before I am back to normal. I showered and then ate something. It was good to have a homemade cup of tea!

Eileen arrived just as I had got dressed to do the trip to Heathrow. She accompanied me. I couldn't extend the contract on the car at the same daily rate, so decided to leave it. As we were there, Eileen suggested going up to Avis to see if they had a competitive offer. They do, but you get the best price when you book online.

We got to Guildford on the newly established Railair link. It was brilliant. Then got back to the Lodge in an Uber taxi! Eileen cooked a delicious meal - chicken jalfrezi! I was able to wash up and then ran out of steam! I actually retired to bed way before Eileen.

It's going to take a few days to regain my strength and I am on my way!!! Thank you for all the good wishes and love sent my way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.