BryanImagining

By BryanImagining

Still in Learn Mode...

Today's lessons: No breathing, No shaking!

Leaving 3 hours late from work, I mount my 18-55mm and set Manual to Bulb, in anticipation of a possible desperation nighttime blip of St Hugo at Night on my ride home. Opening my car door, however, I spotted stray flakes on the driver's side window. MACRO!!!

In the dark and cold I switched my lenses, and attached the tripod (I've been keeping it extended in the back of the car, Boy Scout that I am). It was a struggle to get it close enough to the car, and I melted a few when I got close enough (with my breath). I lit it with my trusty flashlight from different angles. The wind buffeted the tripod and camera, and it was COLD! hadn't planned ahead, and my gloves were in the car. Sigh. Ansel Adams: You are a GOD.

2 Dozen shots taken before I lost feeling in my trigger finger (frozen to the cable release), I had over an hour driving to contemplate what I'd see (reminiscing of the one-hour photo labs in the US, promising prints of your film for those who couldn't wait days).

Alas, my high standards have not yet been met. Still learning about the absolute stillness required by my 105mm Macro lens (oh, and remember not to BREATHE HOT AIR on your frozen subject!) large is unimpressive, sorry. A good learning blip day, and here's the best of the lot.
G'nite, Mates!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.