Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

First walkies!

Xena was much calmer last night, we had no crazy biting or crazy zoomies - I don't for one moment think she is passed it, I think she was just tired as had been awake for most of the day. She woke a bit earlier than usual today, and I think she was hungry as she wolfed down her breakfast - with an added scrambled egg as today was the day of her first walkies and I thought she may need the extra protein ;)

Luke and Meriel came with me to the woods. Xena was quite anxious at first, she hardly walked but sniffed everything as it was all new and strange to her with plenty of other doggy smells- she finally followed us and stuck by quite close for the entire short walk. The first time she met another dog, a rather lovely little miniature Schnauzer, she was terrified - her tail was right down and tried to scramble up our legs to get as far away from the dog as possible. The next dog she met, a chocolate lab, she was less nervous and even quite interested in him but he was more interested in her treats in Meriel's pocket. Of course she did not do her business on the walk as she thinks she can only wee at home!

Later this afternoon I took her for another short lead walk from our house. I think it is important for them to get to know the area where they live - a trainer once told me that, regarding Murdoch, and it saved him many a time when he managed to get out, he always knew his way home again. 

Life at the moment is all about the puppy - I cannot even remember which day of the week it is! I am sure it will get more normal as time goes on. At least she is very settled at home, getting confident around the house and garden, and sleeps right through the night now so that is a blessing. I don't let her into the garden at night by herself as we usually have a fox in our garden every night - imagine if she came face to face with that! It brazenly sits near the house and screeches most nights.

Tomorrow a special play date for Xena, but more about that then....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.