Villalta - those were the days

This could be rather a long yarn. Thinking about Ingeborg’s Abstract Thursday’s ‘Reflections’ challenge for today, my eyes fell on the wine that Mr B put out for tonight. A handsome gift of a bottle of “Villalta Amarone della Valpolicella”. Been waiting for a special occasion, but never used. So our visitor will enjoy a rather special* (*hopefully) wine

The word ‘Villalta’ made me - reflect - on my single carefree days when I spent a few months working in Riccione (near Rimini, on the Adriatic Coast of Italy). Evenings were frequently spent at wondrous clubs up in the hills, with huge terraces, great bands and luxurious sofas. ‘Strangers in the Night’ was the song of the summer. My two favourites haunts were Paradiso .... and Villalta. Sadly have just googled and can find Paradiso, but nothing on Villalta.

The Amarone is from a different region (from outside Verona, in the Veneto). But it brought back some happy reflections. My blip is an abstracted photo of the wine, and curiously looks rather like Puccini’s Madame Butterfly.

By the way thanks for your kind comments and high relative percentage of stars, for yesterday’s seaview. I uploaded the wrong version in a rush - none were impressive - and would’ve removed it (something I don’t usually do), but many of you saw something in it that I failed too!

(Update: Found the place on Google. It’s Villa Alta - not Villalta. But suspect no longer open)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.