Orkney Day 22

It was another beautiful early morning, although the red sunrise should have been enough of a warning. I strode out around the parish boundaries seeing not a single soul save for the occupants of two passing cars.
It was mild and my light duvet jacket was too hot for the initial climb.

I got back to base camp for what passed for breakfast after yesterday’s wonderful feast at the Hamnavoe (when I swore I would never eat again) just as a few burghers were stirring.
The sun still shone as I left the house a second time but between then and my departure from the library an hour later, the rain arrived and I got wet....again. The motto is -wear an anorak at all times and keep the feather jacket in the wardrobe.

It did clear up at lunch time and with CMC occupied helping in the local charity shop, it was suggested that Kitten Hips do something for charity by taking me for an outing in his car. Thus it was that we fetched up at Sheila Fleet’s Café in Tankerness where KH had what he called a snackette and I had coffee and an oatie. Thus fortified we repaired to the beach at Dingieshowe where we had a blow about in the wind and I wrote my name in the sand, as you do.

We tootled back a little late to collect CMC who was by this time wandering the streets of Stromness waiting for her lift home.
Thank you Kitten Hips for a lovely afternoon and I look forward to seeing the new chapter for your book, Kitten Hips Adopts a Midget.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.