A Wet Morning in Stromness- Day23

After yesterday’s beautiful start, today’s was miserable with low cloud and rain. Still it was my last day on the island and I had various things I wanted to do before I left and the first thing was to bus through to Kirkwall and have a salted caramel and pecan scone of generous proportions at the Loltz Café there. I felt I had to add it as an extra photo.

Back in Stromness I had some au revoirs to say, to Elaine in the Quernstone with whom I have had in-depth knitting conversations over the last 3 weeks, to Sheena in the iconic Stromness bookshop who has been diligent in finding a book for me, and to blipper EllyJay whom I follow on Blipfoto.
I said goodbye to IainatCreel yesterday and to Poppy in a phone call this morning, although I am seeing her again in 5 weeks when we go together to the Wool Week in Shetland.

I have packed my case(s) and am shocked at how much stuff I have to get home. I never learn my lesson that there is not a car with boot space waiting for me anymore and that everything must be carried.

Despite the absence of HL which was a big miss, I have enjoyed my first holiday on my own. Not being part of a couple means you have to make the effort to talk to people, and of course Poppy and IainatCreel have waded into the void and been so kind and attentive that I can’t thank them enough.

Next year’s Orkney stay has been booked, just 10 months to go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.