Farewell to Stromness

And so it’s home again, with my recuperative 3 weeks in Orkney now just a memory.

The journey back went well- the bus arrived in Stromness on time yesterday evening to take me to the ferry in Kirkwall, the ferry arrived on time to take me to Aberdeen overnight, sleep arrived on cue thanks to the gentle motion of the boat, breakfast was taken on board with a few other passengers after the boat docked, my cases were dragged successfully to the bus station at Union Square, the bus to Edinburgh via a change in Dundee arrived on time and then the horrendous traffic south of Kinross meant we arrived 40minutes late in the Capital.

Just as I wondered whether I would find a taxi or have to resort to a walk through the hordes of tourists, daughters #2&3 arrived in the bus station to meet me. Never before has anyone ever met me on arrival at a journey’s end. I was really touched by their concern and even more grateful when a taxi materialised to negotiate the mile of congested streets to the Dower House.

With the weather hot and sunny, I have never seen so many people frequenting the parish. There is a week left of mayhem before the firework party signals the end of the Festival, but I dare say the crush in Edinburgh won’t be over until the fat lady sings.
My Blip tells it all in pictures

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.