Kipsie

By Kipsie

Zauschneria 'Glasnevin'

It was looking a picture this morning when I was sat having breakfast outside in the sunshine. Another glorious morning. I got a slice of bread for the birds and noticed it was completely mouldy. That's not good. Mum had exactly the same problem last week with her loaf so after breakfast I rang Warburton's customer care line.

A busy day ahead so thought I would get my Blip pic taken early. Sliced the runner beans I picked yesterday, I plan to make runner bean chutney later. I Googled & chose the Riverford recipe. It's got toasted sesame seeds in it which sounded good.
Laundry on the whirlygig, time to select my veggies for Chudfest Graden & Produce Show. Heading up to the allotment in the car I spotted some plastic fluorescent tube  covers in a skip on the roadside. I parked up on the site and walked back down. Knocked on the door nearest to where the skip was, no answer, a chap came out to a truck so I asked him if he knew whose stuff it was. Nope he was'nt sure, so I pulled out the 4 good ones and headed back up to my plot.  They were the exact length of the new raised beds. Perfect mini cloches for my seedlings. It was eerily quiet up there this morning. Where was everyone. It's the show tomorrow, surely they should be up here digging, picking, cleaning, measuring their chosen exhibits. Well they were'nt.  I picked runner beans, watered all the plants thoroughly, & fed the beans, pumpkins, squash, & courgettes. Then it was time to lift some Charlotte potatoes. I need 4 matching, well as near as damn it. How difficult can that be. Quite a few have green ends where the banked soil had washed down, then I put a fork tine through a beauty. Sod's law! I lifted 6 plants so hope to have 4 in amongst them. Next the Borlotti beans, I'm growing them for the beans, not the pods so fatter than the runners. Not sure what the judges will think of them. I needed 5. Just packing up before picking up some paper plates from Mum in CK when hubby rings to tell me the road is closed due to an accident, so head home. I was pickling eggs as well. So put them on to boil, prepared more runner beans, & sliced the onions while the eggs were cooking. I need more vinegar so rang the local fruit & veg shop. Spoke to Liz, yep, they have spiced and non spiced condiment. She recommended the spiced. Just heading out the door when hubby rang again to say another serious road accident had occurred,  he was stuck in the traffic but hoping to make a u turn and detour back to Chudleigh, so he picked up the paper plates and empty jam jars for me. Eggs done. Time for lunch. Chutney cooking, sterilize the jam jars. I'm only making half the quantity 6 jars. It smells good. Washing dry, folded and swiftly taken upstairs. I'm not ironing today.

Time for The Chase with my half of cider. I find 4 potatoes that are similar in shape & size, so rinse them carefully, & dry them. One of them has a tiny patch of green on it so now i will have to lift another in the morning. And the Borlotti beans, well 4 look great, 1 is a tad larger so will be looking for one of those as well. ARGH!!

Thanks to Anni/BikerBear for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.