To Enkhuizen

Down the coast past some attractive villages to Stavoren, an old favourite, and over on the ferry to Enkhuizen in glorious hot sunshine. And if Enkhuizen wasn’t desirable enough already, right at the waterfront a new brewery and beer garden has opened - Brouwerij De Werf.
But it’s not all hedonism, no no, for MrM lent me a small book - the little History of the Netherlands. I can report that although small, it’s hard going: I mean there are cities, states and all manner of religious big wigs, and dukes and stadtholders, and there are Franks and Friesans but they just all squidge about everywhere as they’re not on an island. And the Prince of Orange - he’s a stadtholder of several provinces, and he is also captain-general-admiral of the Union. And then there are Spaniards! How did they get involved you may ask? Philip the Handsome!
I may read on, but just don’t ask me any questions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.