Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Moon Channels

Will appreciate in large.

This section of Nogalas Hwy headed towards Tucson, the route I always take, is barren desert, prone to dust storms during high winds.

What you are looking at is a slice of about a half-mile long section along the west side of the road. Years ago, after a series of toreential monsoon floods and roadway run-off, deep channels through the sand and dirt formed as a result of the intense erosion. This is one of the more open areas.

I had taken pictures of the larger, more barren spots to show the erosion up close. I may go back tomoworrow to get a shot or two of those spots.

I wish I had a ladder to get a more angled shot of their true depth. It's pretty incredible as it winds its way alongside the road in various angular ways then abrubtly ends, just as it starts.

They are now the ultimate, true desert wash.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.