Pop Goes the Weasel (or Mink!)

Actually, I have no idea if the two little ones I encountered this evening were weasels or young mink?  Anyone have any idea how to tell the difference? I recall weasels being smaller but the two I saw were bigger but not as big as a full grown mink.  Regardless, what fun it was to have two running down the path towards me!  They were playing chase just like two puppies.  Incredible!  They chased each other, tumbled around, went around and around a bush in pursuit....and then one saw me so came over to investigate (got that on video!).  It went right up on one of my feet and then I lost my nerve and decided to move so that it would not climb my leg.  I definitely did not want to be scratched!

I may not be seeing any herons this summer but I am definitely seeing other creatures that are very exciting  :))

In extras, I have included three photos of one of the Kingfishers that were fishing in the marsh (I can now get down there as the water has finally receded!).  Do they molt or is this one having one rough summer?  Still did not keep it from flying very aerodynamically!

A long Skype and a long chat with my mum...all good.  Tomorrow I am off to Toronto with my daughter to attend Fan Expo - always a great spot for a blip   : ))

Have a good one, folks!
D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.