Rose Island Light, 25 years ago

Dear Diary,

I came across this photo of Rose Island Lighthouse in the back of a drawer.  It was stuck to another photo so not in good shape.  I played around with it to give it a vintage look, and hide the damaged spots.  It was 25 years ago this month that my cousin Mary and I spent a weekend in the old lighthouse keepers cottage.  What a wonderful time we had.  There was no electricity, just oil lamps.  We gathered mussels while paddling around the island and cooked them on the old gas stove for our dinner.  I made this little souvenir from things we found on the beach.  Rose Island is in Newport, Rhode Island harbor.  There was another couple staying there too and they took this photo of Mary and I at the top of the lighthouse with the Jamestown Bridge in the background.  What wonderful memories to find in the back of a drawer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.