Heading Home

After a very short night at an airport hotel I was back at the airport just after 6am. I had decided to fly back to London via Chicago as the non stop from Denver was full and overflowing!

Unfortunately Chicago was having a morning thunderstorm and the airport was closed for a short while causing us to have an indefinite delay. I wondered if my plan was not the best after all. But in the end we were only delayed about 90 minutes and I got a good aisle seat in economy, even though the flight was very full. I still had 3 hours connection time in Chicago so I made my flight to London with oodles of time to spare. I even had time for a much needed nap in our crew lounge.

The plan worked out great because the flight to London had LOTS of empty seats in Business class - that’s exactly as I like it on any international flight, especially when flying overnight! So I settled back into my very nice ‘pod seat’ and enjoyed some views out of the window, a nice meal, a couple of movies and at least 3 hours of sleep in a lay flat bed. I DO love my travel benefits - when they work!

This shot is early in the flight as we were just starting to go over Lake Michigan. It looked particularly beautiful today! I had to lean far far forward to actually see anything - the seat was wonderful but not actually right next to the window. If I’d noticed before I got all settled I would have switched seats. Silly me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.