First lemons

Look, I'm about to produce my first lemons! I feel a g&t (or 2) coming on ;-)

The tree has survived searing summer heat from around the time it was planted and winter frosts. Lemon trees are hungry monsters. Mine gets citrus food every few months and regular doses of crushed egg shells, coffee grounds, and finely chopped banana skins. As it warms up and dries out I'll resume feeding it liquid seaweed.

I don't live in a part of the country where citrus are easily grown. If they are protected from frosts, don't get snowed on, and are in a sheltered, warm position, it's possible to grow citrus. It's certainly not a given.

Behind it is a branch from a feijoa tree. On the other side of the wind shelter cloth are the pink flowers of a grevillea (Mt Tamborthia) and beyond that podocarpus (totara) which will form a hedge.

Work was a good day. I was smiling.

Today's gratitude: For longer days

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.