The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Peckingell (Monday 26th August 2019)

A bumper year for painted ladies occurs once a decade, apparently, this year being one such. I have seen a fair few, including even in my own front yard, but it was beginning to look as if I wasn't going to get a viable photograph despite a number of attempts.
On my way back from Chippenham I stopped off in Peckingell. There weren't any polo ponies there, presumably out and about polo-ing, so I ventured across a meadow towards the River Avon. There was plenty of wildlife about in the form of insects, and as usual some ill-disciplined over-indulged dogs, one of whom ran up barking at me for no reason, seemingly with the sanction of two dogwalkers, while I was quietly photographing some wildflowers being visited by a bee. I noticed several patches of the highly invasive himalayan balsam, and some fungi.
This painted lady considerately landed right in front of me, occasionally opening its wings to soak up the sun.

L.
27.8.2019 (1414 hr)

Blip #3020 (#2770 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #002
Blips/Extras In 2019 #197/265 + #075/100 Extras
Day #3440 (768 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2164 (#2005 + 159 in archived blips)

Peckingell series
Butterflies series


Taken with Pentax K-50 (Yellow) and Sigma AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG Macro lens

A Walk In Peckingell, 26 August 2019 (Flickr album of 22 photos)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Specials - Nite Klub (recorded live, 1 February 2019, 100 Club, London)
This concert, recorded to launch the Specials' reunion album, Encore, was broadcast on 6 Music when I got back yesterday evening, and was a great listen, with the band, both original and new members, doing a fine job. Terry Hall had also been doing a DJ spot for the previous couple of hours, standing in for Steve Lamacq. I heard some of it in the car.
When I used to work at the BBC in W1 in the seventies I went to the 100 Club a few times and saw Ann Peebles, Roogalator, Starry Eyed And Laughing and others there.

One Year Ago:
Still Life With Plums

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.