An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Lola in pencil and pastel...

Blipping early today as my to-list looks like a loo roll and I suspect if I don't blip now, I'll end up back-blipping next week sometime!

Our long weekend in Northumberland is almost upon us and seems to have sprung out of nowhere.  I seem to have developed a new habit where, when we reach the last week of the month, my brain fools me into thinking there's still another week to go.  For example I saw David had put in the calendar this morning that the plumber is coming to fit the new loo in our ensuite on the 29th of the month, and I started moaning about why it's going to take him another week to fit a loo.  David let me finish my rant before pointing out that the 29th is two days away.  Cue panic!  That means we go to Northumberland THIS Friday?!!!! Yes.  Jeezus!  The weeks are passing by at warp speed.

Of course priorities are all very well, but I had Lola's portrait to finish so everything else has had to wait.  

This is my first ever attempt at an animal portrait.  Like my daisies, it started off as a watercolour (the base colour...evolution of the piece in extras :-) before I moved on to coloured pencils, then when they didn't quite deliver the result I was hoping for (I expect I need to invest in some decent quality pencils) I resorted to soft pastels which brought me a bit closer to what I hoped to achieve.

As ever with my work, it's the errors the jump out at me, but that said, as my first attempt at drawing an animal (fur is SO difficult!) I am pretty pleased with it and if I can keep improving from here, I'll be happy.

I showed the completed piece to Lola.  She looked at it, looked at me, and walked away!  Hahahahahaha....she's a hard audience! 

So, now this is done, I can concentrate on all the other things awaiting my attention...but my photography stand and backdrop have arrived and I am dying to unpack them and have a play check they're not damaged.

No wonder I am always at the coo's tail!

Happy Tuesday Peeps!  (This is Tuesday isn't it?  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.