Journey Through Time

By Sue

Evening Grosbeak (female)

Coccothraustes vespertinus if you must know it's official name. This is for the BigBlipYear challenge. I was pleased to see this bird in our yard lately. Usually they don't show up until it's time to build nests and raise a family. They have a lovely song that we hear in the spring. The Black-headed Grosbeak shows up in the spring also, but these birds are in different families, for whatever reason ornithologists have come up with. Mine is not to reason why, mine is just to show you what comes my way, bird wise. Exciting, no? LOL

Today was a bit gloomy this morning, but now it's partly sunny and not too bad of a winter's day. We are being lazy and we might watch a movie later on. I came across some Edgar Rice Burroughs books when I was in my early teens and I read a few of his stories and so I thought it would be fun to see "John Carter", a story that I'd actually not heard about until the movie came out. But, I'm curious...so I'll give it a go.

Oh ,I do have to say having a journal has come in handy. The subject of "what did we do last year on New Year's? and "Who did the Duck's play last year?" has come up lately...and AHA!! to the journal! AHA!! Too bad we don't have instant replay on our whole lives, isn't it? Like those rare people with complete memories at their disposal (actress Marilu Henner is one). Hmmm, Jan 4, 1955....oh yes, there it is! Ten years old, sitting on the floor, watching The Lone Ranger. Well, that's a boring memory!

Okay, kids....have a good one and see ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.