KORELKO DAY 35

Last night I was asked if I wanted to go on a special trip to Kalavryta. I was just delighted to be asked especially as I know many of the students couldn’t afford the £40. (I took along my Euros invade I was asked to pay and had missed something in translation!!)
We left at sunrise and returned at sunset.
After an hours drive we stopped here...# at the Corinthia Canal...amazing engineering work. We managed to time it well as a ship went through.
Then another hour + journey to catch the rack railway to Kalavryta.
I had to give a talk about it on the coach....it was the site of one of the worst massacres during WW2. After 78 German soldiers were shot. The general ordered “the severest measures” all women and children were locked in a school which was set alight. All males over 12 were shot!!!! Luckily the women and children survived and 13 men lived. Very very sad.
The journey was 22km through the most unbelievable scenery. It was absolutely breathtaking but my photos just don’t capture the enormity of it all.
We visited 2 monasteries that had been significant in Greek Independence again with moving and tragic stories.
We had lunch at the top of this mountain range; that in winter is a ski resort.
Besides on brief stop we headed straight home
( oh my goodness I’ve called camp home :))))!!!)
We arrived at sunset and I had had a completely free day.
Happy English teacher!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.