It's a mermaid!

Backblip

Unfortunately my daughter in law was feeling much worse so my son took her to my house to be ill in comfort as the very hot weather, camping and a toddler is not a good combination when you're ill.

I looked after I while my son took her mum (thank goodness for the friend and the football!) and then he looked after her while I tried to cool off before peforming. The tent was like an oven and gave no shade so I found a spot by a camper van and lay on the grass.

The band were booked to lead a session in the beer tent which was quite challenging as the music from the main marquee was loud. We played for three hours then I caught up with O and I at the tent.

The older children had made lanterns in workshops on the theme of Under the Sea. They were very well made and imaginative and we took I to see them at the parade where they were all lit up. The photo is of my granddaughter mesmerised by the giant sparkly mermaid that was to lead them.

My son pushed her in the pushchair with her torch lit up like the lanterns (extra).  They paraded around the main site then up to the dance marquee where they walked around the ceilidh floor. The dancers all clapped and sang "Yellow Submarine" as they went. My granddaughter loved it!

We went back to the tent but she was obviously too excited for sleep so Sl got her into her pyjamas and we pushed her around. He wanted to see a Cajun band perform so I took her around for a while then she went to bed.

I went to bed before midnight - the first time that's ever happened at a festival - it was a hard day with such intense heat to cope with too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.