A day in the life

By Shelling

Directions

This tree seems a bit confused when it comes to deciding which way to grow. It has got four, or maybe five different trunks twisting in and out of each other but they share the same root. Maybe early on in its life it had the main trunk damaged and all the others are now competing to be the main one.

I felt a strong connection to that tree when exploring it. Over the years I've developed so many skills and gathered a lot of different experiences. I've educated myself to be an academic, a musician and a teacher unlike my parents who both had hard working backgrounds where you were dependant on what your hands could do to make a living. As a musician I am also dependant on what my hands can do, just in another way than my father, the carpenter did, or my mother the housewife and weaver.

After my retirement I often think about my next steps. What will the new direction be, is there a main trunk to take command in making the right choices? Who needs a retired guitar teacher anyway, or another old musician? 

I just feel I want to find out and stick all my branches out in different directions. One of them might catch some sunshine before it gets dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.