The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

In a cabin, in a quarry..

In my mind, ohmydarling Clementine and a few woodland creatures live in this cabin in the quarry in the coal yard at the top of the Bisley Road, Stroud. Sometimes they let me timeshare it as a writer's retreat. Doris Day stops by and sings the odd song about a Secret Love. What with the singing and the coal lorries coming to and fro, it's not all that conducive to quiet contemplation. But the view across the valley is superb!

CleanSteve has written about our trip to the coal yard. I fell for this corrugated hovel. It reminds me of the Nissan huts that scattered the West highlands of Scotland in the 1970s and were still used as, er, business premises or accommodation. Others lived in caravans or, if they were lucky, mobile homes. The Barcaldine village hall was a larger version of this. I was shocked when I heard that it was pulled down. Where do the bakers of the SWRI sell their cakes now?

This limestone quarry has been worked since the 1700s, and many of Stroud's fine Georgian buildings were built from this stone. There were limekilns as well, and horses and carts coming and going along the rough track. Back in 2013, the recent rains and the tractor's movements have gouged up the track, making it a perilous ride. Standing water is being drained from Horns road (at last) and, as I was coming out of work on the industrial estate where CleanSteve blipped the swan, I almost tripped over a sandbag.

Thanks for all the comments about yesterday's Scrabble blip. Despite having listed 4 jigsaws on eBay and given 2 to charity, I have just agreed to buy 8 more for 12 quid! The thought of the impending tax return and the return to work is spurring me on on to new heights of procrastination. If you never hear from me again, it'll be because I've been crushed by a toppling pile of puzzles...

Happy weekend, blipmates!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.