ABSTRACT THURSDAY

It's not just the “care” wheels that are grinding slowly!  We have lots of courgettes and cucumbers - both long and short - but the tomatoes aren’t ripening that well at the moment either.  Thank goodness we have lots of runner beans and mange tout peas, so I can make stir fries, which are quick and easy!

I saw these tomatoes in a bowl on the worktop this morning that Mr. HCB had picked yesterday so thought before I left at 8 am to come back to Mum’s, I would take a quick pic using my KaleidaCam app.

Mum had a good night, has had a lady carer today who has washed and changed her - she’s had her breakfast and her plethora of pills - and is now sleeping peacefully.

One funny incident - I’ve noticed she hasn’t been drinking her milky coffee so today only made the mug half full then got told off because she couldn’t dunk her rich tea biscuits, so I had to break them in half - lesson learned!

Think I might sit, relax and do some knitting;  I’m still making fingerless gloves in yellow and green - the Wiltshire Air Ambulance colours - ready for a coffee morning on 11 September at The Jovial Monk pub at St Andrew’s Ridge, Swindon.  There is a yellow and green theme for Air Ambulance Week to match the colours of their Bell 429 helicopter and rapid response vehicle and I understand even the cakes will be iced in those colours - so that should look good!

Lunchtime now - so going to see if I can tempt Mum to eat something - but it seems a shame to wake her.

”Too often we underestimate
    the power of a touch,
         a smile, a kind word,
              a listening ear,
an honest compliment,
    or the smallest act of caring,
         all of which have the potential
              to turn a life around.“
Leo Buscaglia

PS Thank you for all your kind comments and good wishes for my Mum, all of which are appreciated very much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.