A Shore Thing

I took a ride to the beach today and thought I would check out the restoration effort so far. There is a big rush to get things back together before the summer. They will need the tourism money this summer more than ever. Not only do homes and business need to be rebuilt, but they also have to make decisions about building smarter. Perhaps by using more durable materials this scenario can be prevented in the future.
My Blip shows a section of Point Pleasant Beach that looks a whole lot better than it did the last time I drove down there. It still has mounds of sand that was pushed back to the beach from the streets and there are many boarded up buildings that have yet to be fixed but at least you can drive around now and most of the debris is out of the roadway.
The sky was bright blue when I was there but the temperatures were freezing!! I'm surprised my picture wasn't blurred from my numb hands, chattering teeth and quivering body. You can see other pictures as well as info on the Restore The Shore link here: NJ Strong
It's amazing how when you look past the mounds of sand onto the beach towards the ocean that everything looks so peaceful, so normal as if nothing happened at all. There is a lot of work to be done but I'm optimistic that we will be enjoying the beaches once again come summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.