I couldn't take ...

...even one decent or interesting photo all day...so here is his lordship jumping on potting shed bed. The original photo is greyed out, light was bad, and I was not in a good mood today. Put it through Inkwork and that improved the photo.

This replacing the roof next door has gone on for two weeks now, and is still not finished. The cowboys my neighbour has employed have taken every short cut going. It is a simple bungalow roof, and should have taken no more than three days. They have not nailed any of those roof tiles at all. It is actually impossible for them to do so because they nailed in the roofing battening willy nilly. No measuring.

My neighbour has been nasty and verbally abusive in the past to me, so I am wary of saying anything about anything. But I had to this morning. A good part of the tiles had been laid on the side next to me, but they ran out of tiles at the end, and so it had been left a couple of days. This morning, it dawned on me that the flue for house gas central heating and water heater boiler had not been put back. It had been tiled over.

So this means no noxious fumes etc from the gas boiler can leave/escape from the bungalow. They would have been using the boiler for hot water at least.

Then I realised it must have been like that for a week, because the roofing felt has been on a week, and that gas boiler flue has been disconnected all that time.

So I rang the bell to tell him, and ask if he realised the gas boiler flue had not been replaced. He was verbally abusive to me, it was none of my business, and turned to shut the door. So I said 'Think about the safety of your grandchildren'. They live with him and his wife. For a split second he hesitated, then shut the door.

However, this afternoon, one of the cowboy workmen came back, removed the tiles and fitted the gas boiler flue back into the roof.

I have felt sad and upset all day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.