Blippish Columbia

By OllieG90

Old Friends

Today has been very chilled. Up early to head up to Wigan in order to give back the Van I've been driving for the last few months and then home via my Aunt and Uncle's house to drop in on Isla, my 10 week old baby cousin. I met her when she was just a week old and its amazing to see just how much shes grown and how much more aware of her surroundings she is. She had a good long gurgle at me (no crying this time!) whilst we bounced around the kitchen.

Important note to self: Take your camera places! the sky on the way out to wigan was very cool, and not having the camera means no picture of my little cousin.

After leaving the family in peace dad and I rustled up breakfast/brunch. just as we went to get out the bacon we found lamb chops which we'd meant to have for tea a few days ago. One shared look of understanding later and we were eating cooked breakfast with Lamb Chops instead of bacon, but with the usual sausage and egg. Delicious!

Getting rid of the van means that I finally get my car back off my sister so I spent the afternoon giving it a deep clean as it gets very neglected during university term time when there is too much drinking work to do! Getting the car back meant a trip on dads motorbike as he headed off to enjoy the good weather on two wheels. It has been years since I last jumped on the back of the bike and, although the journey to Mums house is but 5 minutes, it was great to be back. Must remember to badger him into letting me tag along on a ride sometime soon!

The highlight of my day, however, came in the evening when I headed out to Knutsford with the gang to celebrate the return of my friend from Australia. The food at Piccolino was top notch as always and conversation was great as always. I always miss this lot when I'm at uni and it feels like we never get that many good chances to catch up.

With forgetting my camera today this was a bit of a last minute blip. The light in the restaurant and the bars was always very low and moody, great for atmosphere but the Canon is not a fan (or maybe I haven't worked out the optimum settings). The last pub we frequented was much brighter and I managed to get a last minute shot of Rob.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.