Ignorant

I know nothing about wine. Although I have been known to drink a glass or two on occasion (latterly the TGIF wine tasting), I would just as soon have a soda and lime as white wine or more so, red. It was HL who was the sommelier in the Dower House and the principle taster. ‘Twas he who said wine would not keep overnight, and I believed him until somebody told me the truth.

Because I have no knowledge of different wines and can’t readily distinguish good from indifferent or even bad, should I be forced to buy a bottle for taking to a host, I go by the prettiness of the picture on the bottle or by the shape of the bottle itself.
Hence my choice today - On the left Stellenbosch Sauvignon Blanc because I’ve been there twice and on the right, the Riesling because I liked the shape of the bottle. Job done and I probably won’t taste any of it. I hope my hosts have elderflower cordial - oh the penance of having strange tastebuds.

As I brought the wine home, I passed the work continuing to be done to dismantle the Festival Underbelly carnage in George Square and Bristo Square. My extra is of the mountain of detritus still waiting to be cleared from the front of the McEwan Hall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.