Three shops destroyed by fire

10.3C thin grey cloud, mild, little breeze.

Early blip today.
I have been reading reports in the media and online about a fire that happened in Carnoustie's High Street last night. No one was hurt, but three shop premesis have been completely gutted. One was the new grocers I blipped on its opening in April 2012.

When I went to the Coop this morning I walked the few extra yards to the High Street and recorded the damage.

Afternoon update:
I believe two of the above mentioned shops belonged to a local councillor (Independent). When Maeve and I passed the end of the street on our walk I noticed there was a huge digger in action at the shops. I didn't go along to look but perhaps the buildings have been deemed unsafe.

Maeve the Deerhound and I went for our usual walk after lunch. All very quiet today. We just passed one dog walker on the cycle path, and were passed by one cyclist. We didn't visit the beach.
I had the iPod Nano plugged into my ears today to listen to the newly arrived CD (copied to the Nano this morning) "The Band from Rockall" which is a 'solo' project by the Calum and Rory MacDonald of Runrig fame. I didn't know of the CD until I happened to see a documetary on its making on BBC Alba over the festive period. I liked the documentary so much I made sure to catch the repeat and the CD did not disappoint. I shall add it to one of my Runrig playlists on the Nano :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.