The second half of life..

By twigs

Summer

The cooler weather has passed and it's been back to hot-summer today :)

Breakfast once again outside, some reading (I finished my book - "I Met My Soul In A Coffee Shop" [Louise Gilbert] - a very thought provoking book which I feel I need to re-read in order to grasp deeper understanding from) then we headed out for a walk mid-morning. The tide was a bit too high on the first beach so we abandoned that walk (after chasing some tern images) after a short meander and headed to the other side of the peninsula. How different the beaches are - the West Coast beach is typically rugged with high cliffs, lots of erosion, pounding waves and plenty of wave noise. The East Coast beach - only a matter of a few kilometres away but sheltered from the prevailing winds - has gently sloping golden sand, quietly lapping waves and is bordered by lovely pohutukawas. I'm not sure just how long we walked for but it must have been a while - very relaxing :)

After returning C headed into a marathon stint of photo-selecting and I headed into a not-quite-so-marathon-stint of gardening. G meanwhile headed for a snooze :)

Today oozed summer for me - slow-pace, friends, relaxation, choice, sunshine, beach, simplicity. It's pretty hard to top that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.