Heavenly Twins

I'd read that people would be wearing steampunk outfits at The Shuttleworth Collection Vintage Airshow today. I usually turn up just in time for the start of the flying but went a bit earlier. I was  hoping to capture imaginatively attired and expertly made up women, such as those who attend the Whitby Goth Weekend. Unfortunately steampunk fashion was very thin on the ground.

My favourite aircraft of the day was this Miles Gemini Twin from 1947. I've never seen or photographed one before. It has been described as a gentleman's aeroplane and this twin-engined, four seat, touring aircraft was dubbed by the manufacturer as 'the safest light aeroplane in the world.' Douglas Bader flew one on business when he worked for Shell after the war.

My extra is an RAC Norton motorbike and sidecar. It's the only motorbike I have driven. A friend and I had fun with an ex RAC combo like this off-road when we were in our teens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.