Gorse in Bloom and Wild Skies

It didn't look as if it would have been much of a day today but I'd decided to go up to the moor anyway. Then the skies started to clear and the sun came out. 

There's been much on the local news about road closures on the moor. There's work needed on the road in several areas and things like cattle grids need to be repaired. The trouble is that these narrow roads which are such important links can't be repaired while traffic is still using them. Various places, like Badger's Holt at Dartmeet feel it's going to hurt their business badly because they need the takings in September to enable them to see themselves through the winter months. I wondered whether I'd be able to get to Combestone Tor but figured that I should be alright and if not, I could go somewhere else. 

It was lovely and warm but with a strong wind. You can easily see from the shape of this old hawthorn how strongly it blows up here (and the direction). The skies were quite dramatic with the high level winds shaping those clouds. I spent a fair time there exploring lots of different angles and even stopped to take some of the ponies which were in a good position today. You can see one in the extra I've put up. Those bare patches of earth are where the ponies roll, wear the grass away and use it as a dust bath. I've also put a small album here if you'd like to see a few more. I was spoilt for choice today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.