An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

All the nice girls love a sailor...

This morning was spent taking delivery of the Tesco order.  It was a hilarious order to prepare as food is complicated this weekend. 

 We've got Ele and Kenny coming at lunchtime tomorrow and staying over. They'll leave lunch time on Saturday then Agnes and Adrian will arrive and stay over Saturday night, then they will leave Sunday after breakfast and friend Peter will arrive!  

Trying to work out who will be here when and for what meals (and one's a vegetarian and others have IBD issues) has been a bit of a challenge.   I suspect there will be some over lap of friends arriving and leaving so I had to prepare for that too! Hopefully they will all get fed to their satisfaction.  If not there's plenty gin in stock so I won't care ;-))

The weather today turned out much better than I though it would.  Alan and Ashleigh headed off to visit the Royal Yacht Britannia, which is moored at Leith.  As you can see he had a great time.  And he bought a corgi (see extra :-)  A stuffed one thankfully.  Don't fancy its chances once Lola gets a hold of it!

After lunch it was time for me to have my first drive of the new car.  Exciting!  I would normally go to Station Road (or The Avenue as I like to call it :-) to begin with as it's quiet and I can usually get a blip at the same time, but it's all closed off just now in preparation for the Solheim Cup, which Gleneagles is hosting from 8th - 15th September, so that wasn't an option.  

Chose another fairly quiet local road and spent a bit of time getting the seat adjusted to my liking.  One of the reasons we changed car was to get me a more comfortable driving position so I had high hopes.  Once sorted, we set off.

After a little run around a back road I headed for the A9, keen to see how the car felt in traffic and at faster speed.  All I can say is I love it!  Much better driving position for me, more comfortable and the elevated position feels "right".  I am back to feeling I have a car again and that means a degree of freedom, as it just wasn't possible for me to drive any distance in the Audi without feeling discomfort.  In fact in the two years we had it I'd only ever driven it locally.  David's going to have to get used to leg power as I suspect he's going to find himself without a car a lot more often :-)

This evening D helped me set up my photography stand and soft box for next week's cake smash with Esme.  I wanted it done so that I could check it all and there's not time to do it over the weekend and I am out Monday and Tuesday.  

Thank goodness I did as the backdrop I've bought is too small for the purpose.  It will be fine for single portraits but I need something a little wider for the cake smash.  Thankfully I hadn't spent a lot of money on it.  

Of course doing that took longer than expected so we had a late dinner and  the evening just disappeared in a flash and now here I am finally uploading my blip at 1.00am!!

I am so sorry I've not had a chance to reply to your lovely comments or visit  your journals for so long.  There's just not enough hours in the day at the moment!  And with visitors all weekend, I'll probably end up having to back blip next week sometime.  Hey ho.

Talking of backblipping, Tuesday's blip is HERE, and Wednesday's HERE :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.