Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Gladioli

Last night I had tickets for the BBC Proms to hear Yuja Wang playing the Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 3 and also the Dresden orchestra playing Brahms Second Symphony. Unfortunately we could not go - Gavin had a work dinner and it was a faff getting someone in to look after Xena so Thomas and his friend went, both of them musicians with a deep understanding of music, and they absolutely loved it. They had played the Brahms symphony in a concert at school, so it was well known to them.

Today for the first time in a long time we had rain - possibly because the window cleaner came today - whenever he comes to clean the windows you can bet on it raining afterwards! It was also much cooler today. Luckily Xena and I had a dry walk in the woods where I met a very pleasant dog walker - a retired policeman where he worked with dogs for 17 years. The best part is that he is local, living a few roads away from me, and he offers walking and dog sitting services which I am sure I will use in the future.

I did the grocery shopping for the weekend - my trolley was overflowing as with our 'lodger' (Luke's friend) and friends coming on Sunday for lunch I had quite a few meals to plan. Meriel also arrives tomorrow as she has an interview in London on Monday. 

Thankfully all the tests on my sister came back okay, other than an irregular heart beat. She went home from hospital yesterday and has been told to rest, which is impossible for her.

I bought myself these glads and I love their colour so thought I should photograph them for Flower Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.