The Willamson Tunnels

Liverpool is a beautiful city with a colourful and surprising history. Being taken on a mystery tour, one minute I was walking along an ordinary-looking street and the next I was in a tunnel underneath that same street. 

I've always been fascinated by tunnels. At university, I discovered caving as a sport and became somewhat addicted to the exploration of the amazing underground worlds that exist below the limestone landscapes of this country: the Mendips, South Wales, the Peak District, the Yorkshire Dales. It's actually why I came to live in Yorkshire. I first fell in love with its potholes, closely followed by its hills and then its people. 

I can understand the thrill of exploration and the chance of discovery. The Williamson Tunnels were actually nothing like as exciting as the passion of the people who are digging them out. It's a kind of madness but I can totally relate. That said, my digging days are over, even without my latest problems. The back pain has now transferred itself to my neck. I'm now not sure which is worse. Both make it very difficult to spend time on the computer.

Very many people have left some very kind words indeed, as well as a lot of love. I'm touched. Thank you so much, every one of you. I'm feeling the onset of imposter syndrome right now but will try to ward it off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.