earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Fines

While waiting for a lift home from the cricket with Roam, and with the dressing room being forced outdoors because of Covid protocols, I accidentally became privy to the arcane ritual of Fines. It was fun to witness the way each player's performance was critiqued with such savagery and inventiveness. Not quite so much fun, for me at least, to observe the way the fines were paid! I think I'll leave them to it in future.

It wasn't a great day at the office for my two, Roam being drafted in to play after a few weeks absence with a foot injury. The wind was cold. The pitch was a sticky minefield. Chasing a total of 156, we were in control at 82-1 before being skittled for 101. At least Forrest bowled well. The highlight of the day was a diving, tumbling, juggling catch from Roam, taking a sharp one off his brother's bowling at square leg. I'll remember that for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.