Colstro

By Colstro

Movement

Movement is today's subject from Neet's January2012 challenge.

I live close to the London to Peterborough railway line, so I chose to go to a bridge next to a nearby station where I felt I would be able to get a decent view of the trains as they raced through the station. I experimented with different shutter speeds, and tried taking trains as they came towards me and as they moved away from me. However, I soon discovered that trains passing under my bridge made the whole bridge shake - along with my tripod! So it had to be trains approaching me which hadn't yet reached the bridge.

Experimenting with different set ups, combined with continuous shooting as the trains went by (so I could choose the best train position afterwards) resulted in 94 exposures to get one blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.