ENJOYING SONGS OF PRAISE WITH MUM

We had a good morning at Church and it was great to be back, having missed it last week, so I was able to catch up with several friends.  We are a small fellowship, so we are all aware when one of our number is going through difficult times and we support one another, which is great.

After the service I went over to see Mum as she likes watching “Songs of Praise”, so we sat and watched it together.  They did have quite a number of “modern” songs rather than hymns today, so she didn’t know many of those, but in spite of that she did singalong - and as I knew most of them, I was able to sing out, so between us, we made some noise!

I wanted to take a photograph of her hands, and asked her if that was all right, and she agreed - I explained that I put the photograph online to which she said, “Well, I’ve never seen them” so I had to tell her that she didn’t have the internet, so that wouldn’t be possible for her, but that I would show her what I did. 

At 95 years young, Mum has just become the proud owner of a new iPhone, and now happily Facetimes her grandchildren and great-grandchildren.  When my brother was with her yesterday, they Facetimed his daughter, who is on holiday in America at the moment, and she did very well, so he said - not bad for a novice but goodness knows what she would be doing if she did have access to the internet!  

I’m now back home and because cooking relaxes me, I have just made a meal for us - a new one for me so hope it tastes all right.  It’s actually a vegetarian dish so hope it goes well with the salad leaves, cucumber and tomatoes from our garden.

“We cannot change the past, 
     but we can touch it with different hands.” 
Nitya Prakash

P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments for yesterday’s Silly Saturday Blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.