A SPECIAL GIFT - GIVEN WITH LOVE

After yesterday’s trip, which wasn’t a good one, if you didn’t read my Blip, I had quite a disturbed night - not because of the injuries but because I had obviously been bitten whilst out in the garden and the bites were very itchy.  In fact, I was downstairs just after 4 a.m. looking in the medical box for some cream to put on the bites to make them less inflamed and itchy.  By 5 a.m. they were not quite so bad, but by that time, I was wide awake.

I was quite excited because I thought at least I would be able to get a good shot of a sunrise - ha ha - as dawn broke, it was obvious that there would be no sun and therefore no sunrise, so I settled down to watch a Youtube video on my iPad.  I didn’t put the television on because I didn’t want to wake Mr. HCB, who was sleeping peacefully but at least with my iPad, I can wear earphones.

By the time he got up at 7.15, which was quite late for him, I decided to do some washing and he told me quite forcefully that I wasn’t going out to do any work in the garden today - and surprisingly, I didn’t even argue with him!

So, I was indoors, and looking for something for Tiny Tuesday and had taken quite a few shots of the tiny oxalis flower, but then, bless him, in walked Mr. HCB with a big smile on his face - he said that he was sorry I had had such a disturbed night and knew I had been shaken up by the incident yesterday, so he had picked me some of his carnations so that I could enjoy them and their wonderful perfume on the kitchen windowsill - and then brought them out from behind his back.  

I was very touched and decided that these would be my Blip for today.  Grown and given with love - and received very gratefully - what an old “romantic” he is!  He told me that when he grew them he always intended that they would be picked and brought indoors, but because of all the work we have been doing, he just didn’t get round to cutting them.  I told him once again that his Dad would be really proud of him and of course, his Mum would be too, as she loved carnations.  

Mr. HCB then made me a cup of coffee, and I’m just waiting for the washing to finish before I go and have my shower - as I am still wearing my pink robe - how decadent is that at 11 a.m.?  

“Flowers always make people better, 
     happier, and more helpful; 
          they are sunshine, 
               food and medicine to the mind.” 
Luther Burbank

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.