MONO MONDAY - UNDER AND OVER

We were out in the green gym early this morning - and surprisingly, at 8.30 it was quite warm, so we were glad of the new fence to shelter us from the sun.  

We were getting on very well with the back border - Mr. HCB was digging out a met post, which was a very hard job and I was digging out plants and replanting them in the front border until…I tripped on a large stone and found myself on my back looking up to the sky - ouch!  

Mr. HCB came over quickly to where I was prostrate under the blackberry bush and asked if I was all right - he told me afterwards, he was concerned that if I had fallen into the wall, I might have demolished it.  Cheeky blighter!  I was more concerned because I fell into the blackberry bush and ended up with them all over me, so that’s a few that won’t make it into the crumble!  At least I didn’t fall into the new fence and do any damage to that, so apart from my wounded pride and a badly grazed right arm, I was fine.  

Mr. HCB suggested that I went indoors, but being the tough old bird that I am, I told him I was fine and to stop fussing - there was work to be done and I would be doing it.  I did go indoors and put some cream on the graze and it was OK - just a bit tender.  

A while later, when I was replanting some of the irises, I disturbed a very long, fat worm and as it began to crawl out of the soil, I quickly took my phone out of my pocket and in a jiffy, had my shot for today’s Mono Monday challenge of "over and under", hosted today by Black Tulip.  I hasten to add that I didn't disturb the worm, I just let it get on with doing what it does best. 

A bit later when I was chopping down a very old clematis, underneath some ivy against one of the walls, I came across a snail colony - there were at least forty in there - they are now residing on the other side of the fence, but I daresay they will make their way back quite soon.  I just hope that Sammy will find somewhere for them to over-winter.

In the meantime, enjoy Willy Worm - I do think he and his mates will do much more good in the garden than the snails.  

“Life is hard;  
     then you die. 
Then they throw dirt in your face; 
     then the worms eat you. 
          Be grateful it happens in that order.”
David Gerrold

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.