Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A walk in the woods

I was up quite early to have a run before the day got too busy. After breakfast Gavin and I took Xena for a walk in the woods where I took this photo - it was feeling more autumnal and a bit cooler this morning. Then when I got home I started preparing for lunch, as we were expecting friends for lunch. Yes it was another BBQ, as I am sure this will be the last one of the year, and as it was sunny and a lovely day we decided to make the most of it. 

I made quite a few salads to go with the BBQ chicken and kebabs - my usual quinoa salad with coloured peppers, pomegranate and feta, a green salad consisting of green beans, fresh broad beans and sugar snap peas, a salad or uncooked beetroot rings, feta, avocado and red onion rings on baby spinach leaves and a mozzarella and tomato caprese salad. I also made a apple crumble with preserved ginger, topped with a gluten free crumble made from oats and rice flour. It was a lovely lunch and we all ate too much! Everyone helped and then when our friends left Luke and Meriel took Xena for another walk.

A lazy Sunday evening tonight....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.