Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Little acorns

After my walk with Xena this morning I listened to a zoom presentation by the RPS on the Associate distinction which is the next level I should be trying to do if I can put my mind to it. It was very interesting and they showed examples of successful submissions, some of which were quite incredible. I have been saying that I should do this for 5 years now but it is easier said than done.

Adam had an oral exam/interview today regarding his PhD - four panel members on zoom, one of them an eminent scientist from Imperial College who is leading the Covid vaccine research. He said it went well so he is relieved about that.

Tommy has a couple of friends coming over later today and they will stay overnight. I have had many conversations with him about social distancing and how it is the 17-21 age group with the most cases at the moment, and I suppose you cannot blame them for not wanting to avoid seeing their friends, but I don't want to be at any risk so they can stay outside as much as possible and will be going to the local pub for supper instead of eating with Gavin and I. Actually one of the friends has just tested negative for Covid so I suppose that makes him less of a risk for a little while. They are all about to go back to university so it will be up to them to be responsible about social distancing there.

I also made contact with a local camera club about joining - I have never belonged to a camera club and was put off somewhat by stories of over enthusiastic and over competitive members...In the current situation meetings are still on zoom so it may be a good way to gently ease into it.

Our oak tree is full of acorns at the moment, as can be seen here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.