Jobs

I woke at 6.30!! After a tiring day yesterday, and a late night, I had planned a lie in until 8.30. It was not to be, because once I'm awake my brain starts thinking of all the things I have to fit in that day. I got up, I thought, without waking Jon, but later he said to me he was awake. I got my running things on and ran the circuit at 7am. Got that out of the way early!! Came back, showered and then made a cup of tea.

The morning was then spent with ironing, cleaning the bathroom and hoovering. Pleased to have all that done by 11, I popped in next door, then drove over to the scout hut where I met Jon and Henry who had been to archery. We had a few things to get, then drove back into Cromer and had a tea/coffee and cakes in The Hatters. They were very busy - probably missing the organised and calming influence of Mollie!

After lunch, I went to the allotment. I took my bike and the dog. That isn't easy! I walked most of the way, then free wheeled the last bit that is down hill, with Bracken racing by my side! Minnie was roaming the allotment. She has a large area fenced off, but still escapes into my bit! Nothing much for her to harm. I do have some young lettuce that might come to something, but not much else, and she hadn't scratched up the lettuce! After picking a good handful of runner beans, I started to dig up my remaining rows of potatoes. I was really pleased with the desiree and almost filled this 'bucket' from 3 rows (it's an old camping toilet we used to have as kids in mum and dads caravan) plus some white Charlotte salad potatoes. Very pleased as there were hardly any slug holes. Not sure why that would be. I will definitely grow the desiree again. Now I need a sack to store them in.

At about 4 Henry turned up with an egg box (I had texted for some help) There were a few eggs, so Minnie is back laying again - for a short while anyway! Then Jon arrived in the car, so that we could get the potatoes back! They both stayed and while Henry cut the grass, Jon dug out and tidied some of the spent beds.

We finished at 5. I cycled back and got the dinner on. We invited mum and dad round. We ate at 7 and then I made a birthday card for someone at work. I made it by upcycling bubblewrap, converting it to a stiff sheet of thin papery plastic, by ironing it under/between greaseproof paper, in layers. Bubblewrap is something that can't be recycled. Quite pleased with my first attempt, even if it does look like a child made it!!

Just had a bath as all the digging really makes me seize up!! Then an early night.

Finally, a big Happy Birthday to my lovely little sister Manda, who is 52 today. Hopefully out celebrating with her friends and family!

Yes, I know it's been a busy day, and not really had a chance to rest, but got very nearly everything done, so happy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.